I Bet Azure DevOps Is an Afterthought to Microsoft Now

Azure DevOps feels incomplete in weird ways, and I think I know why.

I Bet Azure DevOps Is an Afterthought to Microsoft Now

Why are there so many little quirks in Azure DevOps still?

A theory

Well, I'll tell you why I think there are so many. Microsoft, despite moving towards its open-source model and improving vastly, is still Microsoft. Azure DevOps was intended to be a completely self-contained solution in the Microsoft Environment.

Objectively, a user had Azure repos as a place to store your code base, build and deploy to own the CI/CD process with some integrations with other tools you buy for testing and the like, and of course boards to manage your work. Over the last few years, however, there's been a considerable homogenization of the tools available in the market to do these tasks, whereas many of them were separate before or, if a more complete offering, still focused solely on one element of the software development life cycle.

Microsoft's purchase of github immediately muddied the Azure DevOps offering. What exactly were the point of Azure repos in the longrun if the code is supposed to live in github? But then, Github lacked work management and more robust pipeline elements, so perhaps one was the world for POs and management while others was for the developers? Maybe the continuous integration and continuous delivery were Azure DevOps big draw? If that were true, though, why is their stuff so dang behind?

An Example

For instance, here's some YAML with a ton of comments because I used it to teach some people:

Yeah, you probably hate this YAML. Feel free to tell me.

Ultimately, my complaint is that you need two separate steps to combine file output in the drops. There are support threads where people agree with me, so I can't be crazy. I bring this up as a point because I just find it clunky. Given the original visual pipeline and the slowly-maturing YAML element of Azure DevOps, it just feels weird.

Here's Where I Play Nostradamus

I refuse to believe that when considering Microsoft's purchase of Github and their slow inclusion of basic elements that mature the SDLC, Microsoft will continue to throw full support behind Azure DevOps. Their "big announcement" tomorrow is probably something about Github's slow march to destroying Azure DevOps with its brand recognition and large user-base.

What I want to know is what that means for accounts, license fees, and integration. Then again, maybe I'll be wrong tomorrow. I'll update this regardless.

Update 8/8:

As expected, we welcome more CI/CD integration into the github platform. This will only spur more confusion but I would personally believe that it leads to the demise of Azure DevOps one way or another. Now if Github would just do free personal repos...